Thursday, 17 October 2013

SAXON to Release Unplugged and Strung Up on November 18th 2013

The British heavy metal legends produce a series of alternative takes on classic favourites to herald a worthy new entry to the Saxonian Institute of Metal.

There is always feral beauty in a raging beast...and with Unplugged and Strung Up, Saxon's selection of unique, fresh and adventurous interpretations of material previously heard only with raw heavy metal thunder, the point is triumphantly underscored. 

Unplugged and Strung Up reveals layers and pieces previously dormant in many of the 14 classic Saxon songs chosen for this makeover, thanks to some ear-catching new arrangements and mixes. Recorded, mixed and mastered with Andy Sneap in Derbyshire, UK earlier this year, Biff and co re-evaluated, re-worked and re-energized the towering likes of "The Eagle Has Landed" and "Crusader" by introducing orchestral dynamics to offer added dimension. "Frozen Rainbow" from the band's 1979 debut, gets a stunning acoustic reprisal which transports it into a power ballad to be proud of, whilst "Red Star Falling" soars and sweeps the emotions with it's orchestrally-arranged dovetail.

As if this reinvention wasn't enough, Saxon superfans and collectors can purchase a digipak version of the release which will include 2002's storming set of full-volume, pedal-to-the-metal re-recorded hits Heavy Metal Thunder. Featuring staple Saxon stormers such as "Motorcycle Man", "Strong Arm of the Law" and "Dallas 1pm" it is a quintessential part of any collection.

The full-track listing for Unplugged and Strung Up is as follows:

Stallions of the highway (Remix)
Crusader (Orchestral version)
Battle Cry
The Eagle Has Landed (orchestral version)
Red Star Falling (orchestral version)
Broken heroes (orchestral version)
Call To Arms (orchestral version)
Militia Guard
Forever Free (Re-recorded version)
Just Let Me Rock (Re-recorded version)
Frozen Rainbow (Acoustic version)
Iron wheels (live acoustic version)
Requiem (Acoustic version)
Coming home (acoustic version)

The full track-listing for Heavy Metal Thunder is as follows:

Heavy Metal Thunder
Strong Arm of the Law
Power & The Glory
And the Bands Played On
Dallas 1PM
Princess of the Night
Wheels of Steel
747 (Strangers in the night)
Motorcycle Man
Never Surrender
Denim & Leather
Backs to the Wall
The standard single CD of Unplugged and Strung Up will come in a jewel case, and a double-vinyl gatefold sleeve version of the release will also be available. The digipack will be a two-disc version of the release featuring the bonus disc Heavy Metal Thunder, and there will be a digital release of the same.
UK Tour Dates

13.11.2013   UK Nottingham Royal Concert Hall 

14.11.2013   UK Newcastle City Hall  
16.11.2013   UK London O2 Academy Brixton  
18.11.2013   UK Northampton Roadmenders* 
19.11.2013   UK Wolverhampton Civic Hall 
20.11.2013   UK Manchester O2 Apollo 
22.11.2013   UK Glasgow 02 Academy  
24.11.2013   UK Buckley Tivoli*  

* Solo Saxon dates
All other together with Motörhead

No comments:

Post a Comment