Tuesday 22 January 2013

The Union Return With New Album and UK Tour Dates

RELEASE DATE: Feb 11th 2013


On 11th February 2013, award winning British duo The Union will release their third album, ‘The World Is Yours’, followed by a 10-date UK tour starting on 13th February.

The release of „The World Is Yours‟ comes hot on the heels of The Union‟s last album, „Siren‟s Song‟, receiving a nomination for „Album Of The Year‟ at Classic Rock Magazine‟s 2012 „Roll of Honour Awards‟.

The Union was formed by guitarist Luke Morley and vocalist/guitarist Peter Shoulder after Luke‟s twenty-year career with Thunder came to an end in 2009. Peter Shoulder was the vocalist, songwriter and musical rudder of Winterville. In 2006 he won The W.C Handy Blues Foundation award, presented to him in Memphis for co-writing the American Blues Song of the Year, „Think of Me‟. The song was performed by blues legend Little Milton. At the time of winning, there were only two other British artists to have received that particular award, the others being Eric Clapton and Peter Green.

The Union‟s eponymous debut album was released in August 2010 to acclaim from both fans and the critics, and saw the band end the year on a high when they were voted „Best New Band‟ at the Classic Rock Roll of Honour Awards, where they celebrated in style by performing live to a hall packed with rock royalty.
2011 saw the band tour with the recently reformed Thin Lizzy and Whitesnake on their respective UK tours, as well as a successful first foray into Europe as the special guests of Belgian rockers Triggerfiunger, before releasing their celebrated second album „Siren‟s Song‟.
When it came to recording „The World Is Yours‟, The Union decamped to Walton Castle. Luke Morley said, “We‟ve used Walton Castle as a writing location on all our albums so far so we thought it‟d be good to record there, too. We set up a temporary control room in one of the turrets and took advantage of all the great sounding rooms. The place has a unique vibe that really suits us ”.

Released on 11th February, „The World Is Yours‟ is set to further enhance The Union‟s reputation as one of the finest rock bands in the UK today.

The Union‟s UK tour dates are as follows:
13 February 2013 - Manchester - Academy 3
14 February 2013 - Glasgow - The Cathouse
15 February 2013 - Ballymena, The Diamond Rock Club
17 February 2013 - Newcastle, O2 Academy Newcastle
18 February 2013 - Leeds, The Cockpit
19 February 2013 - Nottingham, Rescue Rooms
21 February 2013 - London, Islington O2 Academy
22 February 2013 - Newport, Steelhouse Club
23 February 2013 - Slade Rooms, Wolverhampton
24 February 2013 - Bristol, The Fleece


No comments:

Post a Comment