Thursday 18 October 2012

Rainbow: Deluxe Editions: On Stage & Long Live Rock n Roll


Deluxe Expanded Editions
“On Stage” & “Long Live Rock N’ Roll”

Release date: 5th November 2012

Rainbow are set to release Deluxe Reissues of “On Stage” and “Long Live Rock N’ Roll” through Universal this November.

As one of the cornerstones of British Rock, Rainbow, lead by the never-predictable but ever-astonishing guitarist, Ritchie Blackmore, became synonymous with some of the most well regarded and popular charting Rock songs of the seventies and eighties. From the mystic and quasi-religious ‘Stargazer’ and ‘Man On A Silver Mountain’ to the solid gold anthems of ‘All Night Long’, ‘Long Live Rock And Roll’ and ‘Since You Been Gone’, each year in the decade of Rainbow was marked by some of the best songs and performances captured both on record and in-concert.

Passing through the band were some of the best the genre had to offer. Vocalists Ronnie James Dio and Graham Bonnet, bass player and producer Roger Glover and drummer Cozy Powell, each brought their individual talent to the table to record some of Rock’s best loved hard rock on those timeless albums and singles.

On Stage is a live album originally released in 1977. The album was recorded live over several German and Japanese dates in late 1976 during the Rising world tour. Many of the tracks were spliced together from different dates by producer Martin Birch. The recording features the customary introduction to a Rainbow show – the classic quote from The Wizard of Oz, "Toto: I have a feeling we're not in Kansas anymore. We must be over the rainbow!" with the last word repeated as an echo, then the actual band plays a musical phrase from the song "Somewhere over the Rainbow" before breaking into "Kill the King".

Disc 1
1.       Over The Rainbow
2.       Kill The King
3.       Medley: Man On The Silver Mountain
4.       Blues
5.       Starstruck
6.       Catch The Rainbow
7.       Mistreated
8.       Sixteenth Century Greensleeves
9.       Still I'm Sad

Disc 2 (bonus tracks) – Live Osaka 9/12/1976
1.       Kill The King
2.       Mistreated
3.       Sixteenth Century Greensleeves
4.       Catch The Rainbow
5.       Medley: Man On The Silver Mountain
6.       Stargazer
7.       Still I'm Sad
8.       Do You Close Your Eyes
(Previously unreleased)

Long Live Rock 'n' Roll is the third studio album released in 1978. This was Rainbow's last album to feature Ronnie James Dio on vocals.

Long Live Rock N’ Roll

Disc 1
1.       Long Live Rock 'n' Roll
2.       Lady Of The Lake
3.       LA Connection
4.       Gates Of Babylon
5.       Kill The King
6.       The Shed (subtle)
7.       Sensitive To Light
8.       Rainbow Eyes

Disc 2
Rough Mix’s 02/07/1977
1.       Lady Of The Lake

2.       Sensitive To Light
3.       LA Connection
4.       Kill The King
5.       The Shed (subtle)
6.       Long Live Rock N Roll
7.       Kill The King
Shepperton Studios Rehersals
8.       Long Live Rock 'n' Roll
9.       Rainbow Eyes
Don Kirschner Show with Alt Vocals
10.    Long Live Rock 'n' Roll
11.    Kill The King
12.    Long Live Rock 'n' Roll
13.    LA Connection
14.    Gates Of Babylon

Universal Music is proud to announce the release of these classic Rainbow albums as deluxe expanded editions….
“On Stage” and “Long Live Rock N’ Roll” will be released on 5th November 2012 through Universal.


No comments:

Post a Comment