Thursday 14 May 2015


Live In Paris ‘79” DVD + CD set

On 17 July 2015, Eagle Rock Entertainment release “Live In Paris ‘79” by Supertramp on DVD + CD set [Cat No. EAGDV048].  This is the first release of the remixed full length audio, in the original running order, on one CD set, and the first time the audio and video have been available together; this release comes packaged in a 3 disc digipack. “Live In Paris ‘79” was on first release in 2012, incredibly, the first ever live Supertramp video release featuring the classic line up of Rick Davies, Roger Hodgson, John Helliwell, Dougie Thomson and Bob Siebenberg. It features all their classic tracks including “The Logical Song”, “Crime Of The Century”, “Give A Little Bit”, “Dreamer”, “Breakfast In America”, “Take The Long Way Home”, “Bloody Well Right”, “Rudy”, “Goodbye Stranger” and many more. 
The show was transferred and digitised to full HD from the original 16mm film. The sound was remixed by Peter Henderson and Supertramp’s original sound engineer Russel Pope from the original multi-tracks and is presented in both stereo and 5.1 surround sound. All songs were written by Rick Davies and Roger Hodgson, each writing the songs on which they sing lead vocals. [Rick Davies (^) & Roger Hodgson (*)].
(Disc 1): 1) School ^*  2) Ain’t Nobody But Me^   3) The Logical Song*   4) Goodbye Stranger^   5) Breakfast In America*   6) Bloody Well Right^   7) Hide In Your Shell*   8) From Now On^   9) Child Of Vision*   10) Even In The Quietest Moments*   11) You Started Laughing (When I Held You In My Arms)^
(Disc 2): 1) A Soapbox Opera*   2) Asylum^   3) Downstream^   4) Give A Little Bit*   5) Dreamer*   6) Rudy^   7) Take The Long Way Home*   8) Another Man’s Woman^   9) Fool’s Overture*   10) Two Of Us*   11) Crime Of The Century^
DVD Tracklisting:
1) Introduction   2) School^*  3) Bloody Well Right^   4) The Logical Song*   5) Goodbye Stranger^   6) Breakfast In America*   7) Hide In Your Shell*   8) Asylum^   9) Even In The Quietest Moments*   10) Give A Little Bit*   11) Dreamer*   12) Rudy^   13) Take The Long Way Home*   14) Another Man’s Woman^   15) Child Of Vision*   16) Fool’s Overture*   17) Two Of Us*   18) Crime Of The Century^   19) From Now On (credits)^ - Plus five bonus tracks, for which the original footage has been lost, are presented with newly created montage visuals: 1) Ain’t Nobody But Me^  2) You Started Laughing (When I Held You In My Arms)^  3) A Soapbox Opera*   4) From Now On^   5) Downstream
Supertramp’s “Breakfast In America” was the biggest selling album in the world in 1979. It spawned several hit singles and went on to win two Grammy Awards and sell in excess of 20 million copies. On the album’s release Supertramp embarked on a 10 month world tour which arrived in Paris at the end of November. These 4 shows from the Pavillon de Paris were all recorded and the last two were filmed. The audio went on to form the basis of the 1980 live album “Paris” but the film was never released.  As bonus features, we include five tracks recorded on the night (but for which there is no film) using montage visuals: “Ain’t Nobody But Me”, “You Started Laughing (When I Held You In My Arms)”, “A Soapbox Opera”, “From Now On” and “Downstream”.
"Finally released after all this time, the only footage of Supertramp at their very best. For me, as their old manager, watching the film was like coming home, any bitter-sweet memories from the intervening years swept away as I was transported back to that special band and those special concerts of 1979...Man, they really were that good!" -  Dave Margereson.

No comments:

Post a Comment