Monday, 9 March 2015


Tull’s Classic Album Expanded With Rare And Unreleased Tracks Including New Mixes By Steven Wilson And Rare Live Video From 1975

Multiple Versions Will Be Available On May 4th From Parlophone

Jethro Tull notched its sixth gold record in 1975 with its eighth studio album, Minstrel In The Gallery. Its elaborate production is reminiscent of the band’s 1972 classic Thick As a Brick and its songs rock as hard as anything in the band’s vast and storied catalog . To mark the occasion of the album’s 40-year anniversary, Parlophone will present several new versions of the record.

MINSTREL IN THE GALLERY: 40TH ANNIVERSARY LA GRANDÉ EDITION will be available as a limited edition 2CD/2DVD set on May 4th.

Highlights from the set include:
-          Original album and seven bonus tracks (six previously unreleased), two mixed to 5.1 surround , and all to stereo by Steven Wilson
-          Flat transfers of the original LP mix at 96/24+ Summerday Sands
-       Flat transfer of the original quad mix of the LP + Summerday Sands
-          An eight and a half minute film of the band performing “Minstrel In The Gallery” in Paris from July 1975
-          Presented in a case-bound DVD book that includes an 80-page booklet featuring an extensive history of the album, track-by-track annotations by Ian Anderson,recollections by roadie Kenny Wylie, Maison Rouge maintenance engineer Pete Smith, and string section member Liz Edwards plus lyrics, tour itinerary and rare and unseen photographs.

Additionally on May 4th a new stereo remix of Minstrel In The Gallery will also be released on a single CD, digitally, and on 180-gram vinyl as a limited edition pressing.

When it was originally released, Minstrel In The Gallery became the band’s fifth consecutive US Top 10 album, peaking at #7 and #20 in the UK. It was also the last to feature the longtime lineup of Ian Anderson, Martin Barre, John Evan, Barriemore Barlow and Jeffrey Hammond-Hammond.

For this anniversary edition, the album has been expanded with the b-side “Summerday Sands,” several studio outtakes, as well as alternate session material  done for a BBC broadcast,  of the album’s title track, “Cold Wind To Valhalla,” and “Aqualung.” The second disc features a live recording of the band performing at the Olympia in Paris on July 5, 1975, a few months prior to the release of Minstrel In The Gallery. During the show, the band played songs from several of its albums, including War Child (1974) and Aqualung (1971), as well as an early performance of “Minstrel In The Gallery.” It was mixed to 5.1 & stereo by by King Crimson guitarist Jakko Jakszyk.

Track Listing

Disc One: New Steven Wilson Stereo Remix
1. “Minstrel In The Gallery”
2. “Cold Wind To Valhalla”
3. “Black Satin Dancer”
4. “Requiem”
5. “One White Duck / 010  = Nothing At All”
6. “Baker St. Muse”
7.   “Baker St. Muse”-“Pig-Me And The Whore”
8.      “Baker St. Muse”-“Nice Little Tune”
9.       “Baker St. Muse”-“Crash-Barrier Waltzer”
10.      “Baker St. Muse”-“Mother England Reverie”
11. “Grace”
12. “Summerday Sands”
13. “Requiem” (Version 1) *
14.  “One White Duck” (Take 5) *
15.  “Grace” (Take 2) *
16.   “Minstrel In The Gallery” (BBC version)*
17.     “Cold Wind To Valhalla” (BBC version)*
18.    “Aqualung” (BBC version)*

Disc Two – Live at The Palais Des Sports, Paris,  July 5, 1975 (A Jakko Jakszyk Stereo Mix)
1. “Introduction (The Beach Part 11)”
2. “Wind Up”
3. “Critique Oblique”
4. “Wond’ring Aloud”
5. “My God”
a.       Flute Solo Including: “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen/Bouree/Quartet”
b.      “Living In The Past”
c.       “My God” (Reprise)
6. “Cross-Eyed Mary”
7. “Minstrel In The Gallery”
8. “Skating Away On The Thin Ice Of The New Day”
9. “Bungle In The Jungle”
10. “Aqualung”
11.  "Guitar Improvisation"
12.     “Back-Door Angels”
13.       “Locomotive Breath”
          with improvisation and including “Hard Headed English General” and   “Back-Door Angels” (Reprise)

* Previously Unreleased

The DVDs will feature the DTS & DD 5.1 surround mixes as well as the 96/24 PCM stereo mix and and an eight and half minute film of the band recorded in Paris on 6th  July 1975.

No comments:

Post a Comment