Tuesday, 20 May 2014


A focus back on singer-songwriters has become evident in today's musical climate, as seen by the success of such artists as Wilco and Ryan Adams (while such veteran artists as Tom Waits and Leonard Cohen are enjoying the biggest commercial success of their entire career). And the fast-rising singer/guitarist, Jefferson Grizzard, is cut from the same musical cloth, as heard throughout his exceptional new release, 'Learning How to Lie' (via Back Porch Syndicate Records, and available on CD, 180g audiophile vinyl, and as a download at iTunes, Amazon, and CD Baby).

The Georgia native is best described as either a "poetic singer/songwriter with his roots in American Rock" or "'65 Dylan and the Hawks meet Cohen and Petty," and the proof is in the music throughout 'Learning How to Lie,' which runs the gamut from rocking tunes ("Long Time Coming") to ballads ("Lorelei"), and also strikes a chord lyrically (especially the title track, which offers commentary on the human condition).

Grizzard has also hooked up with famed director, Matt Mahurin, to film a great new video for the title track of the album. Mahurin's track record speaks for itself - directing such classic videos over the years as the Black Crowes' "She Talks to Angels," Queensryche's "Silent Lucidity," Metallica's "The Unforgiven," and Alice in Chains' "Angry Chair," among others.
The video can be seen here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sOw7yqKE_GA

'Learning How to Lie' is the highly anticipated follow-up recording to Grizzard's 2011 debut album, 'A Crack in the Door.' Recorded at famed Ocean Way Studios on Music Row in Nashville, Tennessee, an impressive array of collaborators were assembled to be a part of the project.

Award-winning arranger Jerry Yester (Tom Waits, Tim Buckley, The Association) contributes his signature string and horn stylings to several of the tracks. Nashville’s legendary McCrarys (Bob Dylan, Michael McDonald, Eric Church, Mike Farris) grace the recording with their distinctive background vocals. And rock veteran Jimmy Hall (Jeff Beck, Wet Willie, Hank Williams, Jr.) makes an appearance on “In the Fall” with his harmonica.

And Grizzard's talents are being recognized by his peers, including fellow singer-songwriter Willie Nile, who has had praise for the new release (and even contributes vocals to a bonus track, "When Levon Sings"). “Brilliant new CD by Jefferson Grizzard. Thunder and lightning in letters from the underground. Strangers and outcasts learning how to lie in the search for truth and salvation. Tom Waits meets the Stones at the Heartbreak Hotel. Great album.”


1. Long Time Coming

2. Plastic Lady

3. Lorelei

4. New Location

5. Learning How To Lie

6. Rough Times in Paris (Around Around)

7. In the Fall

8. Bound For The Sun

9. So Far Down

10. Rose

11. Cant Knock Em Out

12. When Levon Sings




No comments:

Post a Comment